How I started collecting Vintage.. Part 1

Anyone who has any amount of vintage clothing has been asked this question. I know I’m no exception! I wish I had an answer that isn’t the same as every other vintage-lovin’ gal out there, but sadly, I don’t think mine is any different.
Scan 140840002
My younger sister and I sometime in the late 80s. We were clearly very stylish.

My father loves old movies. Growing up, he always had control of the remote, which meant we grew up watching John Wayne westerns instead of Fresh Prince and Full House. While at the time, I was bummed that I didn’t get to bond with my classmates over the popular TV shows of the time, I could bond with my grandma and grandpa (my dad’s parents) over old movies and TV shows (which, admittedly, was way more fun sometimes!)
RiverNoMonroe
Who doesn’t love Marilyn? Photo from River of No Return and sourced from here

I grew up listening to only oldies, classic rock and big band. I had actually never heard a NKOTB song til… ok, I actually don’t think I’ve heard an entire song of theirs! But, you as you can tell, the love of the “old” was instilled in me from an early age.

I remember watching all of those old movies, talking with my grandma about the history of her jewelry, trying on my great-grandmother’s hats, and my deceased grandma’s wedding dress. I loved the absolute glamour of it all! Even in WWII, with the rations on so many fabrics and metals, everything was still so feminine and pretty. I grew up in the 80s and 90s. I never felt comfortable in any of the fashions that were popular then and I wanted to wear the pretty things I saw on the screen.

When I was in high school, my mom’s coworker brought over this HUGE box of her old clothing from the 70s. I hadn’t particularly been drawn to 70s fashion, but I LOVED the stories I could feel in my fingertips through the fabric. My mom only let me keep a few of the pieces, since a lot of them weren’t in great shape and were a little too costume-y for school.

And to keep things interesting… To be continued!

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I started collecting Vintage.. Part 1

  1. Pingback: Why I love Vintage Pt. 1 | Baltimore Bombshell

Leave a Reply

