Why I love Vintage Pt. 1

I get asked this a lot by friends and people on the street. “Why do you like old clothes?” “Why do you spend so much on old things?” “I could never wear someone’s old stuff! Gross! Doesn’t it smell???”

Yes, sometimes it does smell. So you clean it. Just like when you haven’t bathed in a few days you start to stink, too. Duh.

I mentioned in my post about how I started collecting vintage here that I was drawn to things with stories. I have always had an overactive imagination and I love to daydream about the past lives of my dresses and accessories. Was this dress made specifically for an occasion? Was it a first date? Did they end up together? Was this brooch a gift from a loved one? How did the original owner feel when she first saw these shoes? Was she swooning with love over them? (Because I know I am!)

It’s not just the stories- it’s the attention to detail and how well made everything was. I won’t diss ‘fast fashion’ because I do shop at places that supply that from time to time, but I try to make sure when I do spend money on items it’s stuff that’s going to last. I very rarely follow trends, and stick to mostly classic pieces that I know will last a while and can transition in my wardrobe for years. I have dresses from the 1910s that are better made than dresses I bought 3 months ago.

It’s also the sustainability- we live in a throw-away culture, and it kinda sickens me. I am guilty of having a wardrobe with items I’ve never gotten around to wearing that I end up giving away, or accidentally tearing something and tossing it. I love how people used to make do and mend, something I’m trying to do more of, myself.

Xo
Jaye

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

