My favorite 50s Day Dress

This gal is my favorite 50s day dress. I picked her up at Vintage Oollee’s in Augusta, GA two years ago in August right before my birthday. She has such a special place in my heart!
photo 1
I love everything about the pattern and the colors.
photo 2
I wore her over the weekend while it was so, so hot (really? 90 degrees? It’s only May! COME ON.) And received so many compliments (I always do in this dress- how could you NOT? It’s so pretty!)
I love this dress so much because it reminds me of a dress Asos had out several years ago that I could never find in the US. And that day I found her in the shop?? OMG HEAVEN. I was so happy I had found a similar dress- and true vintage no less! It really could not get any better.
photo 3
I chose to pair her with a yellow belt I picked up at Target on sale a while back, along with a straw hat from the late 40s I’ve had sitting around forever. I also broke out my salmon pink cork platform shoes I bought at either Marshall’s or Ross last year (they scream SUMMER! I love them so much- and they are so comfortable! I’m honestly surprised I haven’t worn them to bits yet.) I’m also wearing my MAC Russian Red lipstick for the day. I really need to do a lipstick post on my top reds. I have some good ones!
IMG_1942
IMG_1941
IMG_1944
These pictures were taken in September of 2012 in Charleston, SC at The Middleton Inn and Plantation (my long hair! Eeps! I miss it…). I took my family on a week-long vacation there and Savannah, GA to celebrate my parent’s 30th wedding anniversary. I really love how the dress fit in with the dreamy surroundings! (Ha! Same Target belt- I just noticed!)
photo 4
So there you have it. My favorite 50s day dress. And one I absolutely cherish. I definitely be getting a lot more use out of her again this summer!
xo
Jaye

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in OOTD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

