Art Deco Society of Virginia’s Gatsby Picnic 2014

Early this past September, I joined the Art Deco Society of Virginia for their second annual Gatsby picnic. It was a splendid affair, with the weather being absolutely beautiful, a beautiful backdrop, great vendors, music, an on-site barber, a paper moon photo booth, costume and dance contest, and everyone in their 1920s finery.

It was exactly the day I had needed to get me out of my funk and my house.
IMG_8902
The lovely venue- The Wilton House.
IMG_8909
The lovely Christine from Tuesday’s post, Sue, myself, Andy Nishida (the Treasurer of the ASDVA) and the ever-lovely Lori (she has one of the most amazing vintage wardrobes ever).
IMG_8900
The winner of the Charleston contest, Miss Laura Windley of Lindyshopper and myself.
IMG_8951
The two winners of the costume contest
IMG_8946
The costume contestants
IMG_8903

IMG_8904

IMG_8906

IMG_8907

IMG_8908
Goodies from Raleigh Vintage, Chatterblossom and MachineDance Vintage.
IMG_8953
My dress is from Fab Gabs<3 and my headband from Chatterblossom.

Overall, it was an amazing day, filled with amazing people and clothing. Oh! The clothing! I picked up a stunning 1930s dress from Raleigh Vintage (that will make an appearance soon) and was gifted an insanely beautiful (and matches the dress from RV!) headpiece from Chatterblossom. It was really just the day I needed. It was great to catch up with everyone and drool over every garment. I well definitely be heading to the 3rd Annual Gatsby Picnic (September 7th in Richmond, VA for those that can make it!) and cannot wait. I better start planning my outfit now! It's also good motivation to get a picnic set!

xo
Jaye

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Vintage Events, Vintage Outings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

