Navy Days

I have been finding myself gravitating more and more to 50s silhouettes lately. I think it’s partially because I’ve always loved the New Look style, and partially because I’ve gained back all the weight I lost last summer after my life sorta fell apart. Luckily, a good 50s dress flatters any figure. So while I get used to my new curves, I’m sticking with the New Look.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC


I picked up this beauty off eBay last week. I was so happy to get her in! She’s perfect! Exactly what I was looking for, but the bust is a wee bit too tight. I tried looking for any extra fabric at the seams to let it out just a smidge, but it doesn’t look like there is any. If anyone has any suggestions- I’m all ears! 🙂
SONY DSC

SONY DSC


SONY DSC

SONY DSC


I paired the dress with my beloved “Bridgette Bardot” white shoes (these I found in a Goodwill in SC years ago for $1.75 and they are still my absolute favorite spring and summer shoes- I have worn the living daylights out of them, and will never give them up!) I also wore a 50s navy felt hat with a bow.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC


I also got a little scissor-happy with my hair. I am still recovering from being sick, and I had changed my hair back to a dark auburn, and decided while I’m growing the bangs back out, and there’s just SO much damage to it, I may as well give it a little trim. Took off about an inch and now have a full on Louise Brooks bob! Finally.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC


I have to laugh at this last photo. Beast is so hilarious. She’s been so good lately- I was notified last week that she has been officially accepted as a US Service Dog. Her vest should be in at the end of the month. So if I don’t already elicit enough strange looks, I’ll now have a very hyper boxer in a service jacket by my side at all times!
SONY DSC

SONY DSC


There’s still plenty of damage that needs to be cut out of my hair, but right now I’m just going to let it be… Really the only thing I can do is just shave it off and start all over. I’m half-tempted with the humidity being what it is so far!
Other than that, life goes on as usual!
xo
Jaye

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Hair, Home, OOTD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

