Why Vintage Has Made Me a Better Person

In the process of writing a journal entry on how my bicycle has made me a better human being, I realized I could very easily write about how vintage has as well. At first, it didn’t seem particularly impactful, but after careful study, I started realizing little ways how vintage has changed my life and my outlook on life as a whole. So let’s count down the ways, shall we?

1. I have more appreciation for history.

2. I am more economically responsible by wearing/recycling textiles.

3. I have learned to embrace my body- no matter how my weight and shape fluctuates.

4. I have learned to embrace my uniqueness.

5. I am learning to be bolder.

6. I am more curious about my ancestors.

7. I am gaining more confidence in myself and my aesthetic and learning to shrug off the negative.

8. I am more outgoing.

9. I am more patient. (Hello mending, hello spot-treatment, hello WOES OF VINTAGE CLOTHING!)

10. I look at the finer details.

11. I get excited about the hunt/journey more than the end result (most of the fun of vintage shopping is the process for me, not just what I find.)

12. I have been introduced to people all over the world I would have never otherwise met.

13. I read more. Really! I love to read historical fiction or non-fiction about the eras that I collect from.

14. I appreciate the things I have and treat them (and myself) with more respect.

15. I don’t give up just because something gets hard. Chiffon tear? Lost beading? I’m not tossing it! I learn to fix it, or bring it to someone who can. But I work through it.

16. I am being authentic to my soul.

17. I embrace my femininity more.

18. I developed an eye for things to work that most wouldn’t see.

19. I understand that quality is vastly more important than quantity.

20. I connect better with my grandparents and other older persons than I had before.

I know there are other reasons, but these were the ones that really stuck out to me. On the whole, I think I’ve learned who I am and learned to express that more. And that’s huge. This time last year I was struggling big time with knowing who I was and where I should be.. So this was a nice list to put together. It helped me to cut myself some slack, too. I am a work in progress, and yes, progress is being made. Good reminder.

xo

Jaye

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Vintage Has Made Me a Better Person

  1. I love all of this. It really sums up what vintage can do for you. Have you read “A Vintage Affair” by Isabel Wolff? I think you would really like it.

Leave a Reply

