New Year, New Finds

I have a new obsession. It’s vintage cooking ware. Help.

Catherineholm of Norway is known for its whimsical and happy colors and Lotus design on their bowls, carafes, and other cooking ware. My first piece is a green fondue pot I purchased off eBay. I can’t wait to add more to my collection! I’m currently bidding on three nesting bowls.

DSC06015.jpg

Ampersand Vintage Modern has a fantastic post about Catherineholm history and the story behind its iconic Lotus design. Check it out!

DSC06025.jpg

Next up is this adorable 40s-50s wooden donkey pin! My coworker, Mary, named him Dominic, after Dominic the Christmas Donkey- HE HAW! HE HAW!

DSC06021.jpg

And of course I had to get a few new vintage pieces! This 1930s purple chiffon gown with silk flowers was an eBay buy that needs a little love. The 1920s silk and fur cocoon coat? SWOON. An amazing find from Elizabeth (who really always finds the most beautiful pieces for the most extraordinary prices) I am so in love with this coat, as I’ve been looking for a 20s cocoon coat for quite some time. It has a lot of shredding on the inside silk lining, so I’ve been painstakingly trying to repair it as carefully as possible. At the rate I’m going, I will be 80 when I finish!

IMG_2971

Despite the lack of enthusiasm in this photo (forgive my tired eyes- my contacts were itchy and I was feeling under the weather) I am super thrilled to be the new owner of this 1920s hat. It’s made of silk ribbon that’s been woven to give the appearance of straw. I can’t wait to wear it at one of the many upcoming picnics this spring and summer!

IMG_2686

And of course.. while not old or vintage by any means… My very Dita Von Teese Christmas! I gifted myself the new gold Dita cardigan from Wheels & Dollbaby (love!), Dita’s new beauty book (love!) and MAC’s limited edition Dita lips (love!) I haven’t worn my new cardigan yet, and I sized up due to a weight gain, but should have just ordered my usual size. Either way, I love it and can’t wait to wear it for a special occasion- I’m thinking our work Holiday Party! (We are celebrating at the end of the month)

Yay new year and new finds!

 

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Home, Wardrobe Peeks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

