ALL THE FOODS

It’s been almost two months since Annabelle has passed, and I find I’m not the only one in the house that’s been mourning. Enid/Snacks/E-Snacks the Cat has been guarding Annabelle’s bed, food bowls and toys. She’s been more needy than I’ve ever seen her, waking me up at all hours of the night because she wants attention. It’s really sad.. she had never showed much interest in me before.

After careful consideration, I warmed to the idea of introducing another cat to the household. Pancakes, the fish, has been a great addition and eSnacks loves to sit and watch him swim for hours but she still wasn’t getting much play time or attention in while I was away at work. I couldn’t find it in me to get another dog (I don’t know when I will be able to do that or IF I will..)

The only thing holding me back? Being a single, thirty-something woman with cats.

Then I decided.. Fuck that. Seriously. Who cares? eSnacks and Annabelle were a bonded pair. Animals mourn and humans mourn. My heart was breaking all over again just watching my cat deal with not having her ‘sissy’ around.

I went to BARCS last week to fill out a volunteer application, and walked out with an adoption application (I still filled out the volunteer one!). And last night.. I came home with this lil dude…

IMG_0340

Meet Waffles! Well.. Sir William Waffles to be exact.

So now I have Snacks, Pancakes and Waffles. I’m sensing a theme…. I’m keeping them separate for now (anyone who has had to introduce cats before knows how tricky it can be!) but trying to give each of them love and affirmation. So far Waffles is settling in great, and eSnacks is holding court underneath the sofa.

xo

Jaye

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

