Birthday Roadtrip 2016

Years ago, I lived out in California. I was still in the military and received orders to move to Texas. Knowing I was not supposed to make any stops in between, of COURSE I decided to stop over in Las Vegas! Bad idea. My car was broken into, and everything I owned (uniforms, clothing, books, dads, makeup, vintage(!!!) and paperwork was stolen. I ended up with a stolen identity and years of struggling to keep it from ruining my life. It wasn’t the greatest trip, but I don’t regret it- what I DO regret… is that I didn’t stop at the Grand Canyon on that trip.

For the last 10 years I’ve been kicking myself over a missed opportunity. So when I learned that 2016 was the 100th birthday of the US National Park Service, I knew that was what I really wanted to do. Thankfully my birthday lined up with the Park Service’s! I booked a flight out to Las Vegas and booked a car to drive out to the Grand Canyon. My dad, the Elvis-loving man he is, decided last minute to join me on my birthday road trip.

img_2426

Meet up in the airport! Note my dad’s visibly “wtf is she wearing?” face.

img_2455

Fun times with my dad’s favorite performer, Big Elvis.

img_2763

My favorite representation of Art Deco, the Hoover Dam.

img_2591

 

I couldn’t get over just how VAST the Canyon is…

After, my dad suggested we drive down to Sedona, Arizona to see the Red Rocks. The landscape was so otherworldly, it was hard to take it all in.

I wish I had better photos but the weather wasn’t the greatest (it stormed the majority of the time) and we all know I’m not the best photographer!

If you ever get the chance to go out to the Southwest- I highly encourage you to do so!

xo

About Baltimore Bombshell

A 30-something vintage clothing hoarder who also has a penchant for books, coffee, lazy days and cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

